Home » Page »

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

License to Carry (LTC) – Class 1/9/2020

January 9 @ 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

$125

$125   TX License To Carry 8am-3pm

This class includes taking out the guess work out of trying to coordinate and complete all of these mandatory steps.

 

  • We also facilitate the application process with you at your convenience here at the store.
  • We fill out and schedule your fingerprint appointment following the completion of your LTC online application.

 

 

Part of our classroom includes driving out to our private outdoor range off site about 15 minutes east of the store. 

 

  • During this drive- you will get to experience the signs that you will be required to know the definition when you are carrying a handgun.
  • We explain in 1st person instead of watching a video or looking at sample signs in a classroom.
  • Real World experiences enroute to the proficiency shooting qualifications.

 

 

The LTC Class does not teach the student how to use a firearm and how to shoot a firearm. 

 

  • Previous firearm experience is REQUIRED before taking this class. 
  • This is not a training course for beginners. If we notice anyone on the range that obviously does not know what they are doing or is not being responsible or fails to practice safety etiquette on the range, we will not sign off on their certificate and they will NOT get a refund.
  •  We recommend inexperienced gun owners to take our Basic Firearm Safety Training course, Pistol 101 or private lessons before taking a LTC class.

 

 

As required by Texas, a mandated LTC class curriculum that will provide each student the opportunity to educate and learn and retain the understanding of the overall objective that defines the responsibilities and laws applicable to be a handgun license holder.  You will be required to take a written test independently and a shooting proficiency test with our instructor. To successfully complete this course you must score 70% or higher on all tests. Safe firearm handling skills are a requirement as is a positive attitude during this class.  

The License to Carry (LTC) class, formerly known as Concealed Handgun License (CHL), requires operating and shooting a handgun in a safe and proficient manner. LTC (CHL) does NOT cover the basic procedures of operating/firing a handgun. If you do not feel confident in your ability to properly shoot a handgun, consider attending a Basic Handgun course or a Private Instruction Session before attending the LTC (CHL) class. We will quickly build your level of confidence and proficiency to prepare you for the LTC (CHL) class.

The LTC(CHL) curriculum will cover everything you need to know about the laws and regulations of carrying a concealed handgun. You are also required to have your LTC (CHL) for open carry.  In the course we will cover not just the state laws, but also Federal prohibitions. The class will cover other information and have time for Q&A.

You will also be required to demonstrate your shooting ability through a qualification course of fire. The firing test is standard. Texas DPS requires an original (first-time) LTC applicant to complete four to six hours of classroom training, pass a written examination and pass a proficiency demonstration (shooting).  LTC Instructors at Crosshairs Texas are certified and approved by DPS to provide this course.  Upon successful completion of the training class, the instructor will provide you with a Certificate (Form-100). This form must be submitted to DPS to complete your application for the LTC License. The Texas LTC class does not teach you how to use a handgun — it only tests handgun proficiency with a timed shooting test.  Our course will provide you an evaluation of your skills based on a verbal assessment.

 

All Range Rules & classroom rules are required to be followed by all students and any failure to follow rules will not be tolerated and will result in a non-passing status.  

– CROSSHAIRS TEXAS INSTRUCTORS –

 

Check Your Eligibility

To qualify for a Texas LTC you must:

 

  • Be at least 21 years old. (Members of the armed forces must be at least 18.)
  • Have a clean criminal history, including military service and recent juvenile records.
  • Not be under a protective order.
  • Not be chemically dependent.
  • Not be delinquent in paying fines, fees, child support, etc.
  • Be of sound mind.
  • Be eligible to purchase a handgun by completing the NICS check.
  • Complete required training.

 

 

If you have questions concerning your eligibility, you may contact the DPS Regulatory Services Division (RSD) helpline at  (512) 424-7293 or contact them via their website at www.dps.texas.gov/RSD/

 

Handgun LTC Requirements

 

  • There is no minimum caliber to legally carry as long as it is a legal pistol. We require at the minimum a .22 caliber pistol to qualify.
  • There is no longer a classification of concealed handgun license. If you qualify with a revolver you can carry a semi-automatic.
  • All handguns will be inspected by instructors for the safety of the shooter, instructors, and other students. Unsafe handguns will not be allowed for the shooting proficiency test.
  • No RMR or Reflex sights allowed
  • No Lasers
  • Any student not following safe gun handling procedures on the range or in the classroom will be ask to leave the classroom and range. NO REFUNDS for safety violations.

 

 

Come range ready with:

Semi-automatic handgun or a revolver** (unloaded and in a box) of at least .22 caliber in good repair and have no modifications that will make the handgun less safe. STUDENTS ARE NOT PERMITTED TO BRING WEAPON or AMMUNITION into the CLASSROOM. LEAVE IT IN YOUR VEHICLE.

 

  •  Baseball Cap
  • Clear Safety Glasses 
  • Over the Ear Protection 
  • Footwear that covers both entire feet
  • One box of 50 round ammunition
  • Pack a lunch, snacks and drinks as this is a working class.

 

NO RELOADED HANDLOADED or SURPLUS AMMUNITION ALLOWED. Use commercial ammunition only.

 

Range Qualification Test Requirements (as dictated by the TxDPS)

 

  • Total of 50 rounds fired at a B-27 target (45 high x 24 wide)
  • Score of 175 out of 250 possible points (70 percentile) required to pass
  • Shooting stance from the ready position where firearm is already in a position to fire

 

Optical enhancers such as lasers, red dot sites or scopes are not permitted by Texas DPS administrative code when qualifying.

Following step by step directions from the range officer, students’ progress through each stage starting from the 3 yard line, moving back to the 7 yard line and finally to the 15 yard line.

 

  • All shots are fired on a B-27 target.
  • Targets will be green, red, black or blue.
  • Hits inside the 8, 9, 10, and X rings are 5 points.
  • Hits inside the 7 ring are 4 points.
  • Hits on the silhouette outside the 7 ring are 3 points.
  • Hits outside of the shaded silhouette are 0.
  • Hits that miss the target entirely are 0.
  • Rounds not fired due to expired time / malfunction are 0.

 

TX CHL/Open Carry Course of Fire:

Stage 1: Twenty (20) shots will be fired from 3 yards.

 

  • Five (5) shots fired in a “One shot exercise” 2 seconds allowed for each shot
  • Ten (10) shots fired in a “Two shot exercise” 3 seconds allowed for each 2 shot sequence
  • Five (5) shots fired in 10 seconds

 

Stage 2: Twenty (20) shots will be fired from 7 yards – fired 5 stages.

 

  • Five (5) shots will be fired in 10 seconds
  • Five (5) shots will be fired in 2 stages
  • Two (2) shots will be fired in 4 seconds
  • Three (3) shots will be fired in 6 seconds
  • Five (5) will be fired in a “One shot exercise” 3 seconds allowed for each shot
  • Five (5) shots fired in 15 seconds

 

Stage 3: Ten (10) shots fired from 15 yards – fired in two 5-shot strings

 

  • Five (5) shots fired in two stages
  • Two (2) shots fired in 6 seconds
  • Three (3) shots fired in 9 seconds
  • Five (5) shots fired in 15 seconds

 

The handgun range is located outside at a different location about a 15 minute drive from the classroom. The classroom portion is located inside.  So please dress for the weather on the day of class.

 

Tuition Does Not Include:

 

  • Fingerprints; Follow the instructions at the end of the application process for the fingerprint process
  • Passport Photos (no longer required if you request on your application that your current Texas drivers’ license photo be used)
  • Ammunition (50 Rounds Minimum)
  • State of Texas LTC Application Fees
  • Handgun rental, unless otherwise listed in a special class. If needed, handguns may be rented at the range. Rental handgun requires range-provided ammunition.  Please get here a little early if you need to rent a gun so you have time to pick one out.

Please contact Keli with any questions at 512-321-4867 or crosshairstexas@gmail.com

Details

Date:
January 9
Time:
8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Cost:
$125

Venue

Crosshairs Texas, LLC
1102 College St, , TX 78602
Bastrop, TX 78602 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
(512) 321-4867
Website:
https://shootheretexas.com

Updated business hours

Due to a shortage in staff and Covid-19 we will be closed on Sundays and Mondays so that we may have a couple of days off and to better serve the OVERWHELMING DEMAND for firearms and ammunition.

We appreciate your understanding - Crosshairs Texas Team